

Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal History and Information

The Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. It is an intermediate appellate court composed of the Parishes of Orleans, Plaquemines, and St. Bernard.

The Fourth Circuit began as the Court of Appeal for the Parish of Orleans, created by Art. 128 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1879. This Constitution also created five courts of appeal for the remaining parishes. Each circuit had two judges. Article 131 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1898 increased the number of judges to three and added the parishes of Jefferson, St. Charles, Plaquemines, and St. Bernard to the Court of Appeal for the Parish of Orleans' jurisdiction, to begin on August 1, 1900. Additionally, Act. No. 137 of 1906 added the parishes of St. James and St. John the Baptist to its jurisdiction.

The courts of appeal were realigned in 1958 when the Constitution of 1921 was amended, effective July 1, 1960, and the Court of Appeal for the Parish of Orleans became the new Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal. Act. No. 696 of 1968 increased the number of its judges to nine. Act No. 661 of 1980 created the Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal and gave it several parishes from the Fourth Circuit's territory. The Fourth Circuit retained the Parishes of Orleans, Plaquemines, and St. Bernard and gained an extra judgeship. Act No. 3 of 1981 increased the number of its judges to twelve.

The old Court of Appeal for the Parish of Orleans was located on the second floor of the Presbytere, on the corner of Charters and St. Ann Streets. In 1910, the court moved into the new Civil District Court Building at 400 Royal Street. In 1959, the court moved to the Civil Court Building at 421 Loyola Avenue. Some judges were at the 234 Loyola Building. In 1990 the court moved to 1515 Poydras Street, 7th Floor. In 2024, the court returned to its old home at 400 Royal Street.¹

Chief Judges

On each of the five Louisiana appellate courts, the Judge who has served the longest is named the Chief Judge. The current Chief Judge for the Fourth Circuit is the Honorable Roland L. Belsome.

¹ The Law Library of Louisiana A Brief History of the Louisiana Courts of Appeal: Louisiana Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit, Website: https://lasc.libguides.com/c.php?g=471988&p=3232756

Former Chief Judges of the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal

Chief Judge James F. McKay III Chief Judge Charles R. Jones Chief Judge Joan Bernard Armstrong Chief Judge William H. Byrnes Chief Judge Robert J. Klees Chief Judge Denis A. Barry Chief Judge Patrick M. Schott Chief Judge James C. Gulotta

Chief Judge Terri F. Love

Chief Judge Julian L. Samuel

Chief Judge William V. Redmann Chief Judge Frank McGloin

Chief Judge Albert Estopinal

Chief Judge Charles F. Claiborne

Chief Judge William W. Westerfield

Chief Judge George Janvier Chief Judge Richard T. McBride Chief Judge Godfrey Z. Regan

